

GFC Standing Committee Report

Committee: Convocation Ceremony Committee

For the Period of July 1, 2023 - June 30, 2024

Members: Michelle Hogue (Committee Chair), Miranda MacKenzie (Convocation Coordinator), Jodie Gallais, Terry Whitehead, Kathy Greenwood, Kathleen Massey, Natasha Buis Deering, Kali McKay, Romany Craig, Maurice Needham, Wayne Lippa, Maleeka Thomas, Jaxon Reiter, Lisa Neufeld & Richelle Marynowski

Meeting Overview: This committee is responsible for overseeing all Convocation Ceremonies. This year the committee oversaw the Fall 2023 and Spring 2024 convocation ceremonies, as well as the installation of Dr. Digvir Jayas as our 7th Vice-President and Chancellor. Highlights of the past year include the graduation of **1257** students and the official introduction of a Blackfoot headdress transfer protocol at presidential installations.

August 2nd, 2023 – This meeting was an opportunity to debrief the Spring 2023 Convocation, as well as overview the plans for Fall (specifically around the upcoming Presidential Installation). An amendment to the typical Convocation week schedule was made; putting Let There Be Light Night on Thursday, October 12th, the Installation and respective dinner on Friday, October 13th & the traditional graduation ceremony on Saturday, October 14th.

Initial conversations around edits to the Convocation Guidelines and Protocols document were discussed but tabled until following the installation, and the Fall 2024 Order of Conferral was voted on and approved.

August 29th, 2023 – A Fall 2024 update was provided which included the presentation of an aegrotat and posthumous degrees, timelines and schedule adaptations, and the reduction of our standard set up times due to the presidential installation. The GSA agreed to cover the cost of all graduate student's regalia.

December 6^{th,} 2023 – This meeting was an opportunity to debrief the Fall 2023 Convocation as well as the presidential installation. Celebrations of a successful installation and ceremony were discussed as well as areas for improvement and strategies for documentation to support future installations.

January 29th, 2024 – This meeting was a formal review of the Convocation Guidelines and Protocols document was completed with the final edits left with Miranda to correct (the vote was deferred to the next meeting, on March 20th). The spring Order of Conferral was voted on and approved.

March 20^{th,} 2024 – A discussion around ways to recognize our PhD's occurred and a decision to have them follow academic staff in the recession was made. As well a change to the Chancellor's final

comments was made to acknowledge their entrance into the academic community. Initial discussions of having Indigenous drumming alternate or compliment the bag pipes for the procession occurred.

Convocation Guidelines and Protocols were voted on and a final document was approved.

May 2nd, 2024 – Spring convocation update was provided including the introduction of our incoming Chief Marshal Richelle Marynowski. Michelle Hogue was thanked for her service as our outgoing Chief Marshal. A decision around Indigenous drumming replacing the Piper in two of four ceremonies (one day of ceremonies is accompanied by Indigenous drumming, the other is accompanied by the bagpipes) was made.

June 17th, 2024 – This meeting was an opportunity to debrief Spring 2024 Convocation. The length of ceremonies was discussed and the need to adapt our Order of Conferral to ensure more balanced ceremonies was addressed. Natasha Buis Deering proposed changing our signature process on Parchment replacements to include current signatures of our President, Chancellor, Faculty Dean & Registrar, rather than that of those positions at their time of graduation. This was due to a change in printing services resulting in an increased cost for parchment replacement (if we maintained our previous process). Canadian universities were surveyed and the majority had already made this switch. The change to parchment replacements was voted on and accepted.

Michelle Hogue, Chief Marshal & Committee Chair

Michelle Hogue

Miranda MacKenzie, Convocation Coordinator

Miranda Mackenzie